The Seven Major Chakras

Yoga chakras refer to the concept of energy centers within the body that are recognized in various yoga and Hindu traditions. The word "chakra" translates to "wheel" or "disk" in Sanskrit, indicating the spinning nature of these energy centers.

According to yogic philosophy, there are seven main chakras aligned along the spinal column, from the base of the spine to the crown of the head.

The practice of yoga aims to balance and activate these chakras to promote overall well-being and spiritual growth. There are various yoga poses, meditation techniques, and breathing exercises that are believed to stimulate and harmonize the energy flow through the chakras.

Here is a brief overview of the seven yoga chakras:

Root Chakra (Muladhara): Located at the base of the spine, this chakra is associated with stability, grounding, and a sense of security.

Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana): Positioned in the lower abdomen, near the sacrum, this chakra is associated with creativity, sensuality, and emotional well-being.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura): Situated in the upper abdomen, around the navel area, this chakra is associated with personal power, self-confidence, and motivation.

Heart Chakra (Anahata): Located in the center of the chest, this chakra represents love, compassion, forgiveness, and emotional balance.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): Positioned at the throat, this chakra is associated with communication, self-expression, and finding one's authentic voice.

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna): Situated in the middle of the forehead, between the eyebrows, this chakra is often referred to as the "brow chakra." It is associated with intuition, insight, and spiritual awareness.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): Located at the crown of the head, this chakra represents the highest state of consciousness, spiritual connection, and transcendence.

Additionally, other practices such as chanting, visualization, and specific affirmations may also be incorporated to work with the chakras in yoga.


"Walk as if you are kissing the Earth with your feet."
Thich Nhat Hanh

Adobestock 431709805